Our holdings on war crime trials largely pertain to those crimes committed by the Nazis and their allies during the Second World War. We also hold a small but growing section on war crime trials relating to other genocides.
Resources in The Wiener Holocaust Library’s Collection
Relevant publications, journals and documents can be found on our online catalogue by searching for ‘War crimes’, ‘War criminals’, or specific trials e.g. ‘Eichmann Trial’.
Most of our collection can only be accessed onsite in the Wolfson Reading Room so plan your visit today.
Highlights include:
- Original documents from the Nuremberg War Crimes Trial
- Adolf Eichmann Trial: transcripts and other papers
- Minor trials which took place under the military jurisdiction of the four occupying powers up to circa 1949.
- The United Nations War Crimes Commission Archive
- Press Cuttings. Ask the Librarian at the Enquiry Desk to see an index to to our press cuttings archive on Nazis suspects, accused and/or convicted of war crimes
United Nations War Crimes Commission Archive
This large archive contains a wide variety of documentation relating to the handling of war crimes by the Allied powers between 1943 and 1949, including: lists of alleged war criminals, files of charges brought against them, minutes of meetings, reports, correspondence, trial transcripts and other related materials. Further information about the full contents of the archive can be found in our Online Catalogue.
Note: Please contact us in advance of your visit to make an appointment to view these files and to find out more about conditions for access.
Other archives and resources
The following projects also hold archival material relating to the War Crimes Trial:
- The Harvard Law School Library’s Nuremberg Trials Project
- The National Archives
- The Nizkor Project: Transcripts of the Eichmann Trial
Any further questions? Ask a Librarian
If you have further questions please do not hesitate to contact us in the Wolfson Reading Room, by calling 020 7636 7247, or via email.
