The Library has a large microfilm collection of press cuttings for the years between 1933 and 2010 on the topic of the Holocaust, gathered from a wide variety of publications and browsable by subject.
The strength of this collection is the ability to browse by subject, with material from different countries and publications filed in chronological order. This arrangement enables researchers to make connections and discoveries often not possible through online searching. The cuttings in the archive trace the changing attitudes to, and perceptions of, the Holocaust, as well as the shaping of collective and public memory over time. The Holocaust is a relatively recent event and the archive demonstrates its continuing integration into the historical narrative, as well as on-going developments in commemoration and memorialisation. Nowhere is this process better illustrated than in the press.
The following four consecutive PDF Finding Aids give a detailed overview of the subjects covered in the archive:
- Click here to see the Press Cuttings Part 1a: 1933-1945 [opens PDF]
- Click here to see the Press Cuttings Part 1b: 1945-1955 [opens PDF]
- Click here to see the Press Cuttings Part 2a: 1955-2004 [opens PDF]
- Click here to see the Press Cuttings Part 2b: 2005-2010 [opens PDF]
In addition the Library has compiled an Index of Names of Nazis and collaborators suspected, accused and/or convicted of war crimes (1955-2004). The names were drawn from Reels 44-48 in Press Cuttings 2a (starting in the middle of Reel 44) which present articles and reports about trials held in West Germany between 1955 and 2004.
How to use the Press Cuttings collection
The Press Cuttings collection is divided in 2 sequences; each sequence is formed of 2 parts (a & b) – as shown below:
- “Press Cuttings” PART 1a-b: 1934-1955 – Reels 1-205
- Part 1a: 1934-1945
- Part 1b: 1945-1955
- “Press Cuttings” PART 2a-b: 1955-2010 – Reels 1-210
- Part 2a: 1955-2004
- Part 2b: 2004-2010
Please identify the relevant part (Part 1 or Part 2) of the Press Cuttings collection by consulting the finding aids above. Each PDF includes an ‘Outline’ section, that allows users to identify a topic, and a ‘Reel Number’ section, that allows researchers to identify the correct reel number – see below for examples.
Outline
| P.C.1 Germany, 1933-1945: Outline | |
| A | The Nazi Party |
| B | Domestic Policy |
| C | Julius Streicher and Stürmer |
| D | Nazi Race Theories |
| E | Church Struggle, Persecution of the Church, ‘Kulturkampf’ |
| F | German Learning |
| G | Schools |
| H | Universities and other institutions of Higher Learning |
| I | Youth |
| J | Nazi ‘Kultur’ |
| Accession Number | Shelfmark | ||
| A | The Nazi Party | Reel | |
| A.1. | History: General; ‘Kampfzeit’; History of ‘Gaue’ | 03/35-03/39 | 1 |
| A.1.a. | Horst Wessel, Leo Schlageter, Holzweber and Planetta | 03/38-02/39 | 1 |
| A.1.b. | Hitler Putch, 1923 | 1 | |
| A.2. | Organisation and Programme | 08/34-12/38 | 1 |
Access
The Press Cuttings collection is available only in microfilm format.
The Library has two microfilm readers available and therefore it is recommended that researchers reserve one of the machines in advance of their visit to avoid disappointment. Should you wish to make a reservation, please phone the Wolfson Reading Room on +44 (0) 20 7636 7242 or email the Collections Team.
